Monday, July 4, 2016

BOOK BLITZ, EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY: Embers (Wings of War #1) by Karen Ann Hopkins

Karen Ann Hopkins
(Wings of War #1)
Publication date: March 15th 2015
Genres: Dystopian, Paranormal, Young Adult

There are descendants of angels walking among us. Ember is one of them. 
Embers is an epic paranormal adventure/romance about a seventeen year old girl who discovers that she’s immune to fire and any other injury when she’s in a horrific car crash that kills her parents. Following a violent episode with her aunt’s boyfriend, Ember flees Ohio to live with an old relative in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee. Ember’s exuberance at escaping a bad home life soon turns to trepidation when she learns that she’s a Watcher, a descendant of angels. 
While Ember is instructed about her heritage and the powers that go along with it, she strikes up friendships with two teenagers who live in a frightening walled compound in the forest. Inexplicitly drawn to one of the young men in particular, an impossible romance develops. But it’s cut short when Ember discovers that her new friends are fighting on the opposite side of a war that’s been raging between two factions of Watchers for thousands of years. When the compound’s inhabitants threaten the townspeople, Ember takes action, sealing her fate in the ancient battle of good versus evil, and the grayness in between. Ember is up to the challenge, until she realizes that she isn’t only fighting for the lives of the locals and the souls of her new friends. She may be one of the few champions willing to make a stand for all of mankind as the rapture approaches and the end of days begin. 
Embers is the first novel in the dark and gritty YA paranormal romance series, The Wings of War.
The complete series:
24903355 25086524 28174752
**Grab Embers – book 1 – for only 99 CENTS for a limited time!**

Sawyer sobered quickly. The obvious hurt on his face made me regret my words.

“You’re right. I’m a monster. I won’t argue on that account. But your kind isn’t squeaky clean either. Just because your ancestors were arch angels doesn’t give you the right to police the world.” His eyes narrowed. “Do you know how many humans have died from wars that Watchers caused?”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about,” I lied.

I was already suspicious about Watchers. Ila scared the crap out of me sometimes with her demeanor and righteous words.

But Sawyer didn’t need to know that I questioned the Watchers myself. His opinion didn’t count.

When I turned back to him, ready to change the subject, I wasn’t prepared for the darkening of his already almost black eyes. He leaned in closer and our breaths mingled. In and out I breathed, allowing his familiar woodsy scent to fill my nose. I know Sawyer. Oh, I know him.

Don’t do it, Ember.

But I couldn’t stop.

When he kissed me, my lips parted automatically.

Deep down, I wanted him, desired him madly, and had from the first time I’d seen him in my dreams.

In that instant, I didn’t care that he was a Demon.

Author Bio:
You can visit Karen Ann Hopkins at her website: 
Karen Ann Hopkins resides in northern Kentucky with her family on a farm that boasts a menagerie of horses, goats, peacocks, chickens, ducks, rabbits, dogs and cats. Karen's main job is home schooling the kids, but she finds time to give riding lessons, coach a youth equestrian drill team, and of course, write. She was inspired to create her first book, Temptation, by the Amish community she lived in. The experiential knowledge she gained through her interactions with her neighbors drove her to create the story of the star-crossed lovers, Rose and Noah. 
Karen grew up about a mile from Lake Ontario in Upstate New York. She was bitten by the horse bug at the age of five, and after diligently taking riding lessons for several years, was rewarded with her first horse at the age of eleven. The feisty horse's name was Lady, a Quarter Horse-Thoroughbred cross, who became Karen's steadfast companion. Through the years, the constant force in her life was horses. Eventually, she found her place as a riding instructor herself. Before accepting her fate in the barnyard, she worked a short stint as a paralegal, traveled abroad, and guided tourists on horseback riding tours in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee. 
Karen is currently working on her Amish mystery series, Serenity's Plain Secrets, along with the YA paranormal/fantasy series, The Wings of War, and the continuation of the Temptation series. Karen is also excited to announce the Temptation series has been optioned for TV by Pilgrim Studios and is available on Audible. 
"I loved joining Rose and Noah during their journey in the Temptation series by Karen Hopkins."-Katie McGarry, acclaimed YA author 


Sunday, July 3, 2016

BOOK REVIEW: School of the Dead by Avi


From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the spine-tingling story of Tony Gilbert, who must solve a mystery surrounding the ghost of his uncle Charlie.

For most of Tony Gilbert’s life, he always thought of his uncle as “Weird Uncle Charlie.” That is, until Uncle Charlie moves in with Tony and his family. He’s still odd, of course—talking about spirits and other supernatural stuff—but Uncle Charlie and Tony become fast friends. Between eating ice cream and going to the movies, Tony is having more fun with Uncle Charlie than he ever could have imagined.

So when Uncle Charlie dies suddenly, Tony is devastated. So sad, in fact, he starts seeing Uncle Charlie everywhere! Tony recently transferred to the Penda School, where Uncle Charlie went as a kid. The school is eerie enough on its own without his uncle’s ghost making it worse. On top of which, rumors have been circulating about a student who went missing shortly before Tony arrived. Could that and Uncle Charlie’s ghost be related?

Full of twists and turns that get spookier by the chapter, School of the Dead is a fast-paced mystery that Avi’s fans will devour!

REVIEW BY: Michaela, age 12 


This book is a thrilling adventure! I never thought that someone could make going to school an adventure for me. School is something that I don't want to do, but this author makes going to school sound like something you want to get out of bed at 6:30 am for! At this school, you don't know if you are going to survive the day without seeing a ghost! 

The Penda School has some not so normal children, crazy staff and is downright terrifying! This book is a mix of adventure and mystery all rolled into one. My favorite character is Tony because he'll do anything to help out his true friends. My favorite part is the school dance because I love dressing up! 

Go buy yourself a copy of this book and be prepared to have a great adventure. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 8 to 11. 

BOOK REVIEW: Wanderlost by Jen Malone


Not all those who wander are lost, but Aubree Sadler most definitely is on this novel’s whirlwind trip through Europe. A romantic and charming YA debut perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jenny Han.
Aubree can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a relaxing summer. But when her older sister, Elizabeth, gets into real trouble, Aubree is talked into taking over Elizabeth’s summer job, leading a group of senior citizens on a bus tour through Europe.
Aubree doesn’t even make it to the first stop in Amsterdam before their perfect plan unravels, leaving her with no phone, no carefully prepared binder full of helpful facts, and an unexpected guest: the tour company owner’s son, Sam. Considering she’s pretending to be Elizabeth, she absolutely shouldn’t fall for him, but she can’t help it, especially with the most romantic European cities as the backdrop for their love story.
But her relationship with Sam is threatening to ruin her relationship with her sister, and she feels like she’s letting both of them down. Aubree knows this trip may show her who she really is—she just hopes she likes where she ends up.

REVIEW BY: Michaela, age 12 years


This book is lovely and simply amazing. This book is sweet and romantic, yet adventurous. I enjoyed this book very much! When you read it, make sure you clear your schedule because you won't want to put it down! 

The author has a way with her words that makes you enjoy the book so much. I have no idea who my favorite character is because the author makes every character have a chance in the spotlight. My favorite part is when they go to the gazebo from the Sound of Music because it is funny. 

I think if you like sweet and not full on romantic reads, this book will be perfect for you! Remember to fear your schedule though! 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 10 to 17 as there are no inappropriate words or actions.