Wednesday, December 30, 2015


Angelina's review of Dante

Creator of sinfully scandalous mystery thrillers 

Podcast Host: Back Porch Writer and Womanly Art of Self-Defense 
Editor: Kori Miller Writes 

Author of: 

Hush: A Dezeray Jackson Novel 
Deadly Sins I: A Dezeray Jackson Mini-Series 
Deadly Sins II: A Dezeray Jackson Mini-Series 
Deadly Sins Complete: A Dezeray Jackson Mini-Series, Box Set 
My life in black and white: A book of experiences 

Kori creates memorable adventures for children at Kori Miller Kid Lit 

Interview Conducted by:


1. What is your inspiration for writing? 

I love this question! Several people, places, animals, and things inspire me to write. Sometimes, all it takes is a name. From there, a story unfolds. For example, my National Novel Writing Month project in 2013 was "Archer Jaxson and the Compass Wars." A day or so before NaNoWriMo began, I decided to participate, but all I had were two names. I didn't have a story. I knew I wanted to venture out of my comfort zone and write Scifi. I also knew that I wanted Archer's story to include a character of mine from another series (Dezeray Jackson) I was writing. The name "Archer Jaxson" makes me think "adventure." 

2. What age did you start writing? 

The first actual story I remember writing and illustrating (badly) was about a dog who loved to chase cars. It didn't end well. I was in grade school -- maybe 5th, maybe younger. I still have it in a box somewhere. Ever since I could hold a pen, I'd pretend to write. My scribbles meant something on the paper, even if I was the only one who could interpret them. 

3. What was your inspiration for Dante? 

DANTE came about because I had two ferrets: Jester, and then, Puck. Watching them, and remembering what it was like to find them in a pet store, made me realize that I had a story to tell. DANTE is a mixture of both of their personalities. 

4. Where do you write? 

Most of the time, I sit at my kitchen table. We have a set of floor-to-ceiling windows that allow me to see our backyard. It's amazing! Sometimes I hear (and then see) bluejays stealing cat food off of our deck. Other times I hear the strange cluck sound from wild turkeys roaming. The first time I heard their call, I had no idea what was making the noise. My middle grade novel, The Coyote Wars, originated from me hearing a group of coyotes yipping from across the road from our house. In the third DANTE book, he meets some of those coyotes. (Neither of these books are ready for publication. Dante in the Cold, Dark Night needs illustrations, and The Coyote Wars has been in a semi-constant state of revision.) 

5. How many books have you written? 

I've written more than I've published. I've published six books, but only one of those is a children's book. My other children's books either need illustrations, or still are in rivision. They are: Splash! (needs illustrations) Dante in the Woods (needs illustrations) Dante in the Cold, Dark Night - working title (needs illustrations) The Coyote Wars (in revision and needs some illustrations) Archer Jaxson and the Compass Wars (in revision and needs some illustrations) Dez Jackson (Middle Grade Mysteries) The last three are all middle grade novels. 

6. Would you rather have a bunch of friends or one close friend? 

One close friend. I'm an introvert. Keeping to myself is my nature. I've had (and still have) very extroverted jobs/positions and it's exhausting! So, I know a lot of people, but at the end of the day, I'm good with my small, inner circle of people. 

7. If you weren't a writer, what would your career be? 

I've always been a writer, even in my other profession as a training & development specialist. For the past 12 years, I've owned a tea company. More recently, I began substitute teaching. Doing things one at a time isn't in my nature. I like variety and a challenge. I'm an entrepreneur and authorpreneur. 

8. Any advice for young readers and writers? 

Read a lot. Write a lot. I used to believe that my first draft of just about anything I wrote was fine. It wasn't. Learn to enjoy the revision process. Seek feedback from people whom you respect and who will be honest with you. Writing is simply another skill to learn. 

9. Any other interesting facts/info about you? 

I used to be a mime. French is my second language, but I can't speak it fluently anymore. (I'm working on that!) The piano is my favorite instrument, but reading music is my Moriarty. Martial arts, specifically Hapkido, is one of my favorite things to study and practice. I host three different podcasts: Back Porch Writer, Womanly Art of Self-defense, and Indie Author Hour with Hardy Lebel. And I can juggle. A little.

Thank you Ms. Miller! 

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

COVER REVEAL: Redeem (The Caelian Cycle #2.5) by Donnielle Tyner


Hi everyone! 

We are so excited to announce that we will be moving in to our newly built house this Thursday!! We have waited for this for a LONG 7 months. 

Therefore, if you have requested us to review your paperback book, but haven't sent it yet, please email us to get the new address! 

We can't wait to get back in to the swing of everything. It's been a very long and dreaded 3 months in a tiny house of 400 sq feet for 6 people and 2 dogs!! 

Big house living, here we come! 

Happy New Year's and we hope everyone had a VERY Merry Christmas!

Charity, Arianna, Angel, Michaela and Angelina

Monday, December 28, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins


Kill the beast. Win the girl. New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins delivers a dark fantasy filled with rugged hunters, romantic tension, and a princess willing to risk all to save her kingdom.

When a monstrous beast attacks in Eurona, desperate measures must be taken. The king sends a proclamation to the best and bravest hunters: whoever kills the creature will win the hand of his daughter Princess Aerity as a reward.

Princess Aerity recognizes her duty but cannot bear the idea of marrying a stranger—she was meant to marry for love—until a brooding local hunter, Paxton Seabolt, catches her attention. And while there’s no denying the fiery chemistry between them, Princess Aerity feels that Paxton’s mysteriousness is foreboding, maybe even dangerous.

Paxton is not the marrying type. Nor does he care much for spoiled royals and their arcane laws. He is determined to keep his focus on the task at hand—ridding the kingdom of the beast—but the princess continues to surprise him, and the secrets he’s buried begin to surface against his wishes.

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 13 years


This book was wonderful, but also had me sad and disappointed. 

My favorite character was Aerity 's sister because she was so passionate. She was optimistic in a time when happiness was much needed. 

My favorite part is when Aerity is doing tricks in front of the hunters because she is so focused and the description is beautiful. 

I recommend this book to anyone who likes tales of sacrifice, beasts, and hopeless romance. 

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 13 and up. 

This book's publishing date is March 8, 2016. 

Sunday, December 27, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan


Destiny and darkness collide in this romantic, sweeping new fantasy series from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan.

Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok’s lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna’s survival depends on the world believing she is dead. 

But that doesn’t stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized. 

With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.

With lush writing and a star-crossed romance, Reign of Shadows is Sophie Jordan at her best.

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 13 years


This book surprised me with every page! 

My favorite character is Luna because she stays strong even with her many challenges. She tries to save her kingdom no matter how misguided her attempt was. 

My favorite part is when Luna made a friend in the fox because you can tell how warm this scene is just from the description. 

I recommend this book to anyone who likes fairy tales, romance, and one brave girl who defies all odds. 

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 13 and up. 

This book's publishing date is February 9, 2016. 

Saturday, December 26, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine


A dark epic fantasy, inspired by the tale of Snow White, about an exiled princess hunted by a spelled prince who must defeat the dangerous and powerful evil queen enslaving her kingdom

Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She’ll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous wielder of magic Ravenspire has ever seen.

In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, when Prince Kol’s father and older brother are killed by an invading army of magic-wielding ogres, the second-born prince is suddenly given the responsibility of saving his kingdom. To do that, Kol needs magic—and the only way to get it is to make a deal with the queen of Ravenspire, promise to become her personal huntsman…and bring her Lorelai’s heart.

But Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected—beautiful, fierce, and unstoppable—and despite dark magic, Lorelai is drawn in by the passionate and troubled king. Fighting to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman—who she likes far more than she should—Lorelai does everything in her power to ruin the wicked queen. But Irina isn’t going down without a fight, and her final move may cost the princess the one thing she still has left to lose.

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 13 years


This book had me hungrily flipping the pages for more! 

My favorite character is Kol because he fights back against Irina and falls in love with Lorelai. He sacrifices himself for his kingdom and that takes guts. 

My favorite part is when Lorelai uses her magic to save her kingdom. She not only uses her magic, but also her passion and intelligence. She is independent and strong. 

I recommend this book to anyone who likes a magic wielding princess, evil stepmothers and dragons. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 13 and up. 

This book's publishing date is February 16, 2016. 

BOOK REVIEW: The Storm by Akiko Miyakoshi


When a powerful storm threatens a planned trip to the beach, a young boy waits and worries and dreams. 

As this evocative picture book begins, a little boy is excited about a trip to the beach with his parents planned for the following day. But a bad storm is coming, and he has started to worry they won't be able to go. He watches as the sky grows darker through the afternoon. His mother and father close the shutters and bring the potted plants indoors. Then the storm arrives. "All through dinner, the rain beats hard against the shutters. The wind howls and blows," the boy says. "I try not to be scared." At bedtime, he thinks, "I wish I had a ship with big propellers that would spin stronger winds to drive the storm away." While asleep, his wish becomes his dream, and he manages to blow away the dark clouds with his imaginary vessel. Then, to his delight, when he awakens, he finds his dream of clear blue skies has come true. 

Author and illustrator Akiko Miyakoshi uses spare text and black-and-white drawings to echo the tension and uncertainty a child feels when encountering severe weather. The boy knows he is safe, yet danger is near. When he faces his fear in his dream, he becomes empowered by having conquered it. This is a perfect book for a quiet storytime on a rainy day. It would also work for launching conversations about fears, particularly those that are nature related, or as the impetus for children's own imaginary stories of how they could be courageous and save the day.

REVIEW BY: Angelina, age 9 years, 4 months


I liked this book! It was about a boy and his mom and dad. They promised him that they would go to the beach, but there was a storm and he became sad. He went to bed and woke up the next morning and it was a wonderful clear day. 

My favorite part is when the boy wakes up to a brighter day because I feel the same way sometimes after an awful day before. 

My favorite character is the boy because I felt so bad for him and I felt like I was in the book with him and his feelings. 

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 6 and up. 

This book's publishing date is April 1, 2016. 

BOOK REVIEW: Alexandra Frost and the Dragons of Overearth by Paul Wallbridge


Alexandra Frost is not your average eleven-year-old. A dragon kept safe in humanform, she discovers that other hidden dragon children like herself are being captured. What she doesn’t know is by whom or for what reason. So, she enlists the help of her two best friends, a dragon named Raj and a human named Lilly, to discover what’s going on. 

What they find out will change their lives forever: Ten years ago, the dragons of Overearth fled their home world and sought refuge hiding amongst the humans of Earth. The time is coming when dragons of all colours will reunite and return to Overearth to fight their common enemy, a Black dragon named Balaur. That is, if all the children aren’t captured first.

REVIEW BY: Michaela, age 11 years, 6 months


This was a good book! I really enjoy how all of the dragons have different elements. It really kept me interested and wanting to read more. 

My favorite character is Leo because he is so funny. I would definitely read this book over and over again because it is so amazing. 

I recommend this book to those who would like a shorter Harry Potter type of book. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 9 to 13. 

Thursday, December 24, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Echo and the Magical Whispers by Paul Haston


Echo is a magical elephant. She hears the voices of dead elephants. A great flood will destroy the world and only she can save us.

The book is written from the elephants' point of view and is filled with magical realism. 

REVIEW BY: Michaela, age 11 years, 6 months


I think this is a well put together story! It will fill you with sadness and joy through Echo's journey to bury her father's tusk. 

My favorite character is Echo because she loses all of her family, but still stays strong. She is absolutely amazing to me and I think of her more like an equal than an elephant. 

My favorite part is when Echo meets Artemis because when you read the part, you just know in your heart that they should get together and become a family. 

I think anyone that likes a heartwarming animal story should read this book, just be prepared to shed some tears! 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 11 to 16. 

BOOK REVIEW: Dreamology by Lucy Keating


A debut novel with the vibrantly unconventional romance of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and the sweetness and heart of Jenny Han.

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Every night since they were kids, they've met in their dreams, traveled the world, and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist in real life. 

Then Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, and there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped—especially when their dreams start to bleed troublingly into their waking hours. Soon, Alice and Max question not just their relationship, but their own sanity. The pair realize that the only way to fix things might be to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough? 

Whimsical, romantic, heartbreaking, and utterly original, Lucy Keating’s debut novel will win readers’ hearts, and is perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Stephanie Perkins.

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 13 years


This book interested me from the start! It is exciting and an absolute original. 

My favorite character is Alice because she is smart and strong. She works hard, but still stays human by making mistakes. 

My favorite part is when Max and Alice can't dream with each other because its a bittersweet moment. 

I recommend this book to anyone who likes drama, romance, and surprising twists. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 13 and up. 

This book's publishing date is April 12, 2016. 

BOOK REVIEW: Jesper Jinx and the Sneezing Season by Marko Kitti


Jesper Jinx is eleven, and probably the unluckiest person in all of Puffington Hill. Everything he touches seems to end up in sweet disaster. Hence his nickname 'Jinx'.

It's Spring time in Puffington Hill, and the most unforgettable Sneezing Season ever for Jesper! In this book, packed full of new wonderfully wicked adventures, you're going to get to know Chloe, Jesper's long time future-girlfriend, and meet a Purple Buzzard from the tropical island of Buzzupurplu. Also, there's Rosie, the grinning Squirrel with an attitude and the infamous Diary Wars.

WARNING: This book causes uncontrollable laughter!

REVIEW BY: Angelina, age 9 years, 4 months


This book was good. In this book, Jesper Jinx has a crush on a girl named Chloe and she went with her friends to get a sandwich where he met up with her. They went to the beach and went for a walk, Jesper tried to give her a sandwich, but a bird stole it!!!

My favorite part is when Jesper bought Chloe the sandwich because it makes me happy that he was so sweet to her. 

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 8 and up. 


Isabel Curtis is the author of Before Life Happened and several other books that you can see at her website.

Interview Conducted by:

1. What inspired this book?

This is a very interesting question. The book has nothing to do with any personal occurrences, but I wanted to try explore a world of grief through a teenager's point of view, and send a powerful message to all those girls and boys out there who might be going through a hard time. I feel that literature has a big impact on those who read a book, and I wanted to do my best to give a spark of hope to those readers who might be stuck in darkness.

2. What is your biggest accomplishment?

Probably writing my first book, finishing it, and finally deciding to self-publish it. Realizing that writing was my dream career took a while, especially because it's not something that my family would encourage and fully support, so I never thought I'd have to courage to start this new adventure.

3. What is unique about your writing?

Unique is a big word. I'd say that my writing is special because I put a lot of myself in my stories and my characters, I do a lot research if I'm addressing a particular issue (ie. depression or self-harm, like in Before Life Happened) so that makes the whole narration more real, which is not something every author does. There is so much effort into creating a story from scratch that it makes the end product special, and I think this goes for every valid author out there. You don't always have to be unique, just special in order to leave a mark: and this is what I want to do through my writing.

4. Was it hard (mentally, spiritually) to write this book?

It became harder when someone very close to me passed away unexpectedly, making me grieve somehow just like Hayden was suffering. So yes, I guess some parts where harder to write than others.

5. What age were you when you started writing? When was your first piece published?

I started writing when I was in high school, but just for myself. I decided to start a writing career when I was 20, although I never published anything until recently.

6. Is this book part of a series?

Yes, Before Life Happened is the first installment in the “Before” series. I'm already working on a sequel and a short novella which will feature Sunrise as the main protagonist.

7. Have you written any other books?

I published a NA contemporary romance book called “Unexpected Love” which is also part of a series.

8. Why did you pick writing as your profession or side profession?

It all happened sort of random, but at some point in my life I decided that I didn't want to keep my books just for myself so I started writing for a bigger audience. I felt like I had a lot to say, and I've always resorted to writing when it came to put my thoughts in order or understand my feelings which is what I try to do when I write, except I make up plots and characters to turn everything into fiction.

9. If you could choose, what author would you want to mentor you for writing?

I would really really really love to meet Chuck Palahniuk.

Thank you for your time and support Ms. Curtis!

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Hootie by Julie Rogers


Inspired by true events, this rite of passage story follows the journeys of an orphaned eight-year-old boy, Mason Classon, a displaced owl named Hootie, and Jim Odom, who alongside each other find the strength and determination to overcome the tragedies that took so much from them.

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 13 years


This book was great and I love that it is a true story! It really touched my heart and is very sweet. 

I don't have a favorite person because it just seems weird to have a favorite person who is or was alive. My favorite scene is the Epilogue because it shows just how much Hootie touched others. 

I recommend this book to anyone who likes an amazingly sweet true story. 

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 10 and up. 

BOOK REVIEW: Until We Meet Again by Renee Collins


They exist in two different centuries, but their love defies time.

Cassandra craves drama and adventure, so the last thing she wants is to spend her summer marooned with her mother and stepfather in a snooty Massachusetts shore town. But when a dreamy stranger shows up on their private beach claiming it's his own—and that the year is 1925—she is swept into a mystery a hundred years in the making.

As she searches for answers in the present, Cassandra discovers a truth that puts their growing love—and Lawrence's life—into jeopardy. Desperate to save him, Cassandra must find a way to change history…or risk losing Lawrence forever.

REVIEW BY: Angel, age 13 years, 1 month


This book is a heart-wrenching romance story with a fantasy twist and lovely plot. 

This book is about a girl from 2000 and a boy from 1925. When their private beach plays a role in a time glitch, they meet even though they are from 2 different centuries. They soon fall for each other, however, they are messing with time! Can they keep each other from each other or will the future be totally different? 

My favorite character is Lawrence because he is every girl's dream boy in a book. 

I recommend this book to readers that love mysterious romances. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 12 and up. 

This book was published on November 3, 2015. 

AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: Irish Beth Maddock

Ms. Maddock is the author of The Great Carp Escape and has generously accepted our invitation for an interview!

Interview Conducted by:

What inspired you to write?  

I wrote my Christian book after I felt the Lord wake me up at 2am to recall the childhood memory of the carp in a whole new light.

What age were you when you started writing?  

I began writing in Grade 5.

Are you writing another book?

Yes, it is not a children's book however, but a cat sitting guide.  I run a cat sitting company here in Calgary.  I really like cats. Maybe you noticed the "Easter egg" kitty in each page of "The Great Carp Escape"?  For the record, this cat's name in my book was Pickles.

Do you think your book could be turned into a movie?

Hmmm...I suppose it is possible?

Where do you write (i.e. office, library, park, etc.)?

Mostly, I write in my office.

Do any of your siblings like to write, if you have any?

I do have a brother but I don't know him well.  I suspect he is not a writer though based on what I do know of him.

Did your mom and dad like to write when you were a kid? now?

I did not have a mom growing up.  My dad worked a lot.  He enjoyed many hobbies but writing was not at the top of his list. My dad passed away seven years ago.

Would you read your books over and over again? why or why not?

I actually do have to read my book over and over as I do author visits and readings at bookstores and Christian and Catholic Schools. 

What is your favorite picture in your book?

Definitely, my favorite picture in the book is the cover page, where Pickles the cat is trying to play with the carp.

Any other interesting info/facts about you?

I have a three legged dog named, Bella, a cat named, Dieter and two African Dwarf Frogs named "Elsa and Anna", courtesy of my daughter, Eden who is seven years old.

May the Lord bless you and keep you.  Thank you again for your time and interest in "The Great Carp Escape".

Thank you so much for your time Ms. Maddock! 

CHRISTMAS SALE: Enchanted Book Promotions


Enchanted Book Promotions is holding Christmas Sales!

If you book two tours with us between December 21 and December 31, you get one FREE tour package! The FREE tour package will be the same one as the smallest package you ordered.

Just purchase two tour packages from the website using the same contact email, and then we’ll get in touch with you about your tours AND your FREE tour package.

Find out more about the sales here, and if you'd like to find out more about the different tour packages, visit this page.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact staff at

BOOK REVIEW: Jesper Jinx by Marko Kitti


Jesper Jinx is eleven, and probably the unluckiest person in all of Puffington Hill. Everything he touches seems to end up in sweet disaster. Hence his nickname 'Jinx'. 

In this first book of Jesper Jinx's wonderfully wicked adventures you're going to meet Jesper's family and Snowy the Cat. Also, there's a mysterious new classmate with a moustache. And it's up to Jesper to launch his famous Boredom Breaker. What harm would it do to have a little fun?

REVIEW BY: Angelina, age 9 years, 4 months


I really enjoyed this book. It was about a boy named Jesper Jinx that has a sister. His sister is not allowed to drink energy drinks, but she still does it anyway, so Jesper does something to her drink. 

The next day he saw an author and every single day Jesper went to his house and told stories. At the end Jesper saw a spider! I don't like spiders! 

My favorite character is Jesper because he is the main character and I think he is very funny! My favorite part is is dinnertime because it makes me happy and smile. 

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 8 and up. 

GIVEAWAY: Autographed print copy of "An Evening With Grandpa" by Diana Matlin

Angelina's review of An Evening with Grandpa

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

BLOG TOUR & REVIEW: Henchgirl by Rita Stradling

About the Book

Title: Henchgirl
Author: Rita Stradling
Genre: YA Fantasy

I had never thought my life was ideal, but it had been manageable. 

By day I pretended to be a human, going to a 'human's only' high-school, making human friends and trying to get the attention of Keanu Hale, my school’s quarterback. At night, I worked as a henchman, making sure no one got in the way of my grandfather’s hotel-empire which spanned across the Mabiian island chain. I was my grandfather’s most cherished weapon, I stole and manipulated emotions, I would even drain someone of their ability to feel joy if my grandfather ordered me to.

I won’t apologize for what I did, it kept my sisters fed and my grandfather from finding out that my mother squandered our monthly allowance on shopping and throwing extravagant parties. It kept my family alive. But more importantly, my job kept me from being trained to be a wife and married off to some rich and powerful dracon, a human-dragon hybrid, as all girls with one-eighth dragon blood are.

As I said, my life was just manageable, until Wyvern Manderson vacationed to my island. Wyvern Manderson, the rich, powerful, and famous for something or other, half-dragon jerk, just kept showing up, sabotaging my missions and ordering me around. On top of that, for some reason he was always angry at me

Pretty soon I was suspended from further missions, facing eminent financial ruin and still had to see the jerk everywhere I went. When my friend Amanda from my human-high-school vanished, Amanda turned out to be Wyvern’s human half-sister he was keeping secret and protecting. 

Taking on the mission to find Amanda might have been what I needed to save my family from losing everything, but to do it I would have to spend all day everyday with the jerk. To top that all off, Amanda was not the only girl who disappeared, and when girls started being discovered dead I realized that my sanity wasn’t the biggest thing I would be risking in this investigation; I might very well be the next to die.

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 13 years


This book was wonderful and had me on edge! 

My favorite character is Dakota because she is strong. She takes care of her family even though it's not her job, she gives 100% every single day. 

My favorite part is when she realizes she has been teasing the Wyvern Rex and making a fool of herself because it makes me laugh. 

This is one of the best books that I have ever read! 

I recommend this book to anyone that likes family drama, dragons, and one brave girl. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 13 and up. 

Author Bio
Rita Stradling  lives with her husband and son in Northern California. Her six year old son wants to be a train when he grows up.  She has a BA in Art History and a particular interest in modern and medieval art.

Rita has an insatiable novel addiction and mostly reads young adult and adult: paranormal, urban fantasy and high fantasy.